Home | About Us | Contact Us | Site Map | Chinese
News | Biz | Pearl River Delta | Enjoy Life | Culture | Travelling | Pics | Cities & Towns | Gov Info | Specials
Current Home > Enjoy Life > Leisure & Entertainment > Sports
Golden Ball award goes to Zidane
Latest Updated by 2006-07-11 09:17:03
Related News
Gilberto furious at Brazil's World Cup flop
Germany beat Portugal 3-1 for World Cup bronze
World Cup hurts as much as it entertains in China
France nip Portugal 1-0 to reach World Cup final
Italy breaks penalty jinx to win World Cup title
Travel News
Imperial City Wall to Show Up in Beijing
Package tour prices to rise
China Names First Platinum Five-star Hotels


French Zinedine Zidane reacts after missing a shot during the World Cup 2006 final match between Italy and France in Berlin, Germany, July 9, 2006. France lost to Italy 4-6 after the penalty shootout.(photo: xinhua)

France captain Zinedine Zidane won the Golden Ball award for the World Cup's best player, despite being dismissed for head butting Marco Materazzi in the final.

He polled 2,012 points in the vote by journalists mostly carried out at half-time.

Behind "Zizou" came Italy's defensive rock Fabio Cannavaro (1,977 points), with the Juventus defender's Azzurri team-mate Andrea Pirlo completing the podium (715 points).

In the Final against Italy, the French midfielder, 34, scored apenalty early but was unable to pick up the second FIFA World Cup winners medal of a glittering career and was sent from the field for butting Materazzi in the chest. His team went on to lose on penalties (3-5).

Other players on the Golden Ball shortlist included Maniche (Portugal), Michael Ballack (Germany), Gianluca Zambrotta (Italy), Thierry Henry (France), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Patrick Vieira (France) and Miroslav Klose (Germany).

Germany goalkeeper Oliver Kahn won the prestigious award in 2002, while other previous winners include Brazilians Ronaldo (1998) and Romario (1994), Italy's Salvatore Schillaci (1990) and Argentine great Diego Maradona. Enditem

Winners of FIFA Golden Ball award

Following are the winners of the FIFA Golden Ball award for most outstanding player at the World Cup finals:

2006: Zinedine Zidane (France)

2002: Oliver Kahn (Germany)

1998: Ronaldo (Brazil)

1994: Romario (Brazil)

1990: Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)

1986: Diego Maradona (Argentina)

Editor: Donald

By: Source: China View website
Previous:  China beats Argentina 3-1 in field hockey  Next:US basketall team to play two games in China

Imperial City Wall to Show Up in Beijing [Hot route] Escape from the heat of the summer Broadway musical of "Lion King" to debut in Shanghai [Group Photo]The New Yuan Ming Palace in Zhuhai Couple at World Cup 2006
This site contains material from other media for content enrichment purpose only.
The website do not endorse such content and do not bear the joint responsibility of their copyright infringement.
The views expressed in written material posted to the bulletin boards of are those of the authors and/or publishers. The website does not endorse information products posted by organizations and individuals here. The originators of these information products are solely responsible for their content.
For copyright infringement issues, you shall contact within thirty (30) days. Email:
If you find any error in this page, please drag your mouse to mark the text with error, then press "CTRL" and "ENTER", to inform us. Thanks for your help!
Home  |  About Us  |   Contact Us  |  Site Map  |  Chinese
©2005 WWW.NEWSGD.COM. All rights reserved.registered number 020074 Terms of Use | Advertise | ICP Certificate No.B2-20050252
Guangdong Gov Link
Guangdong Gov Brief
State Structure
Guangdong in Brief
Laws & Regulations
Exchange Rate
Guangdong Guide
Museum Museum
University University
Eat Eat
Shopping Duting
Night Life Night Life
Weather Weather
Phone No. Phone Num
Consulate Consulate
Airport Airport
Travel Tips Tours Tips