Home | About Us | Contact Us | Site Map | Chinese
News | Biz | Pearl River Delta | Enjoy Life | Culture | Travelling | Pics | Cities & Towns | Gov Info | Specials
Current Home > Travelling > Travel News
ASEAN countries sign agreement on visa exemption
Latest Updated by 2006-12-22 09:36:11

The ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) foreign ministers signed here Tuesday an ASEAN Framework Agreement on Visa Exemption to facilitate intra ASEAN travel and boost the tourism sector, people-to-people linkages and economic development among ASEAN members.

Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi (1st R) addresses the opening ceremony of the 39th ASEAN Ministerial Meeting in Kuala Lumpur July 25, 2006. The 39th ASEAN foreign ministers' meeting was held in Kuala Lumpur on July 25. (Xinhua Photo)

The agreement was signed at the end of the one-day 39th ASEAN Ministerial Meeting (AMM), which was attended by foreign ministers from ASEAN's 10 member states, namely Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The agreement exempts citizens of member countries from visa requirements for a social visit of up to 14 days from the date of entry.

However, the agreement shall not affect the implementation of existing bilateral protocols/arrangements and the respective laws and regulations on visa exemption between member countries.

Currently, except for Myanmar, Malaysia provides visa-free facility of up to one-month stay for citizens of all member countries with diplomatic, official/service and ordinary passports. However, Myanmar citizens holding either Diplomatic or official passport also enjoy this visa-free facility by Malaysia.

Only Thailand and the Philippines have entered into bilateral visa arrangements pertaining to ordinary passports with Myanmar.

In the light of the ASEAN Framework Agreement on Visa Exemption, Malaysia and member countries concerned are expected to negotiate bilaterally with Myanmar on the visa-free facility for social visit of up to 14 days for those holding ordinary passports.

This agreement will enter into force when instruments of ratification or approval from all ASEAN member countries have been deposited.

Malaysian Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi (6th R) and Ong Keng Yong (1st R), secretary-general of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), pose with the foreign ministers of ASEAN members during the opening ceremony of the 39th ASEAN Ministerial Meeting in Kuala Lumpur July 25, 2006. (Xinhua Photo)

Editor: Donald

By: Source:China View website
  Related News

ASEAN countries sign agreement on visa exemption Siyue Library in Dongmen "Confession of Pain" premiered in HK Nanjing Massacre victims remembered Rockets rout Wizards 114-109
This site contains material from other media for content enrichment purpose only.
The website do not endorse such content and do not bear the joint responsibility of their copyright infringement.
The views expressed in written material posted to the bulletin boards of are those of the authors and/or publishers. The website does not endorse information products posted by organizations and individuals here. The originators of these information products are solely responsible for their content.
For copyright infringement issues, you shall contact within thirty (30) days. Email:
If you find any error in this page, please drag your mouse to mark the text with error, then press "CTRL" and "ENTER", to inform us. Thanks for your help!
Home  |  About Us  |   Contact Us  |  Site Map  |  Chinese
©2005 WWW.NEWSGD.COM. All rights reserved.registered number 020074 Terms of Use | Advertise | ICP Certificate No.B2-20050252
Guangdong Gov Link
Guangdong Gov Brief
State Structure
Guangdong in Brief
Laws & Regulations
Exchange Rate
Guangdong Guide
Museum Museum
University University
Eat Eat
Shopping Duting
Night Life Night Life
Weather Weather
Phone No. Phone Num
Consulate Consulate
Airport Airport
Travel Tips Tours Tips