[Guangzhou] Customs Museum
2010-January-14 Source: www.lifeofguangzhou.com
Text Size: A A A | Print | Share by E-mail:

Customs Museum (File photo)

At the original site of Guangzhou's customs office, a nostalgic architecture from the old Canton with its famous "Big Bell" on the top offers an excellent view over Pearl River. The building now hosts the Customs Museum which opens to public January 13. The museum is open free of charge between 8:30 am and 5 pm.

Nicknamed the "Big Bell Tower," the site of the Old Canton Customs Housewas established in 1860. Renovated in 1916 by British architect David Dicker, all the materials used in the construction were imported from Britain. The building is situated on the northern bank of the Pearl River, only 200 meters away from Shamian Island.

The museum offers a unique glimpse into the past with explanations of the clearing procedures used in those times. It also presents precious historic articles such as stamps, seals and wooden plaques, rare treasures displayed on the first and second floor.

Editor: Miranda
Related News
This site contains material from other media for content enrichment purpose only. The Southcn.com website do not endorse such content and do not bear the joint responsibility of their copyright infringement. The views expressed in written material posted to the bulletin boards of Southcn.com are those of the authors and/or publishers. The Southcn.com website does not endorse information products posted by organizations and individuals here. The originators of these information products are solely responsible for their content. For copyright infringement issues, you shall contact Southcn.com within thirty (30) days. Email: falv@southcn.com
Info for Non-Residents